The People: Felix

What is your role at Re:Fuel?

I’m Re:Fuel’s new Marketing Apprentice. This means I get to help the team further grow their presence in the Southwest and work on new ways to increase brand awareness. I’m already finding it really exciting and interesting to be part of such a young and fast-growing business, and working with the team to create new, innovative ways to interact with our audience.

How did you get involved with Re:Fuel?

I first found out about Re:Fuel ‘s work through word of mouth. After attending a couple of their Open Days and reading about their aspirations on the website I knew that I just had to be part of Re:Fuel in any way possible.  That’s when I got in contact with George to discuss any possibilities in being involved within the marketing side of Re:Fuel.  Which then lead to meeting over coffee with Dan, Josh and George to discuss the next steps. Now I’m sat here writing this as their new Marketing Apprentice!

What’s your favourite thing about Re:Fuel?

The sheer diversity and inclusiveness of Re:Fuel are what I love about the brand. For someone like myself, who loves literally anything with four wheels and an engine, there’s nothing else like that in the Southwest. From pre-war cars to your modern supercars, every taste and interest is accounted for.

What were you doing before Re:Fuel?

Before Re:Fuel I was completing my A-Levels at Exeter College, studying English Language, Geography and Sociology. Initially I was intending to get into the automotive industry through journalism. However, following work experience with (and this is absolutely no bad reflection on them!) Classic and Sports Car Magazine I realised that I wanted to stay within the automotive industry, but in a different field. I’m now working towards a career in marketing and social media – which is why this apprenticeship at Re:Fuel will be, I’m hoping, a great help to launching me along that path.

Tell us about your home life!

I live in a village just outside of Ottery St Mary with my family. I’ve lived in East Devon since I was a small child, always being within half an hour of Exeter. After going to primary school in Lympstone I attended secondary school and then college in Exeter.

What do you do when you’re not working?

In my spare time I enjoy attending a variety of car events, from small local meets to national events such as the Goodwood Festival of Speed and Silverstone Classic. Outside of motoring I enjoy to both play and watch football whenever I get the chance and, although I don’t play rugby anymore, I’m still an avid fan and love watching it.

What car do you drive?

Since being only 18 and passing my test just over a year ago, I’m currently driving my first car: a mk7 Ford Fiesta 1.6 Zetec S. However, I also own a 1990 Volkswagen Corrado 1.8 16v. Notice how I say own and not drive! I’m currently unable to get insured on the car until I turn 19 at the end of May. Therefore, since I purchased the car last summer both my parents have been insured on it whilst I count by the days. All that I’m currently able to do is add my own touches to the car whilst I wait….. May cannot come soon enough!

What is your favourite drive?

In Devon there are so many great roads to drive along. Some examples being the A39 stretch along the North Devon coastline, and the B3212 across Dartmoor. However, a personal favourite of mine is the coastal road from Starcross to Torquay, a drive I usually make in the summer months with my Dad in his 1971 Pontiac Lemans.

If you could go anywhere, where would it be?

I’ve been fortunate to visit many different and intriguing countries and experience different cultures. However, one place that stands out to me that I’ve not yet had the opportunity to visit is Japan. The culture, the scenery, the people it has so many interesting things going for it and is definitely a place I’d like to visit sometime in the near future.

Tell us something we don’t know about you.

I’m currently in my first year of my BSc Marketing Degree at Plymouth University. A four year degree that consists of a year’s industrial placement in my third year, which I will be aiming to get within the automotive field. I guess a less known fact about me is that I was born in Málaga, Spain, where I spent the first couple of years of my life.

Why Exeter?

Since being based around Exeter and East Devon most of my life I’ve grown to only love the area. It’s the perfect balance between country and city life. Over the past ten years Exeter has changed drastically. It is always expanding whilst managing to maintain the same feel it’s always had.

What are you working on right now?

I’m currently working on ways to increase Re:Fuel’s physical advertisement with a focus on promoting our venue through automotive events around the Southwest. We don’t consider any events in the Southwest to be a competitor – the more going on for enthusiasts in the Southwest, the better. So if you’re part of the management or event team at anything automotive-themed, please do let me know if you’d like to work with us by emailing me on